Skip to main content

Using the new Control Panel? Dig into our new documentation

Reviewing changes to shared tags and edit/stop a tag share

Tag sharing eliminates the hassle of exporting and importing data between nations. You may want to view any changes the sharing nation has made to a tag, edit a tag, or stop a tag share all together. 

Table of Contents


Reviewing changes

When profile information is synced, the receiving nation can choose to review changes to non-blank fields. When this sync option is chosen, both sending and receiving nations review data conflicts before any data is overwritten. You will be able to review changes to profiles that were matched between nations. At this time, it is not possible to resolve ambiguous matches. 

Please remember that blank fields are always filled in during a tag share with data sync, even when the receiving nation chooses to review changes. Additionally, addresses are never included in the review process and will be overwritten whenever they are updated.

The status of a tag share and synced data will be viewable in a series of boxes:

Name Description
Status This will show if the share is approved, pending, denied, or stopped. 
Matched This number represents the number of profiles who have been matched and are queued to be synced. The matching process has linked the profiles together, but no data has been shared. In most cases, this number will be zero.
Not found This number represents any profiles that do not have a match in the receiving nation. Every day the sending nation will check again for a match in the receiving nation to resolve the “not found” profiles. This is only applicable if the sharing nations did not choose to create new profiles. 
Ambiguous  This is the number of profiles from the sending nation that have more than one potential matching profile in the receiving nation. At this time, no further action can be taken to resolve ambiguous matches.
Synched This shows the number of profiles who were successfully synced between the two nations and did not have conflicting data.
Unreviewed changes When profiles are matched between nations and there is conflicting data between the profiles, those conflicts will require manual resolution. This is the number of matches that require review.

To review changes in the sending nation: 

1. Go to People > Tags > View all and click on the pencil  button next to the name of the shared tag you wish to review.

2. Go to Sharing > Shared with. Click on the pencil  button next to the receiving nation.

3. You will be directed to a screen where you can see the stats boxes. You may also review the settings selected during the initial share including sync options, data being shared between the nations, and whether people will be created in the receiving nation if they do not currently exist. Click on Unreviewed changes.

4. In Unreviewed changes you will see a side by side comparison of the conflicting data present in the two nations.

5. To accept a data change from the other nation check the box next to the selected field. Click Apply selected options . This will overwrite the data in your nation.

Any fields that need to be accepted by the other nation must be accepted within the receiving nation’s control panel. You can not select to overwrite another nation’s data.

You may skip certain fields by unchecking the appropriate checkboxes and clicking Skip . You can also skip whole profiles using the Skip button.

To review changes in the receiving nation: 

1. Go to People > Tags > View all and click on the pencil  button next to the name of the shared tag you wish to review.

2. Click on Unreviewed changes. Follow the same process as outlined above. Similarly, you may not overwrite the sending nation’s data from your control panel.

If conflicts are skipped or unreviewed, those fields will remain out of sync until the conflicts are resolved. Matched profiles will continue to sync, and blank fields will be filled. 



How to edit or stop a tag share

Once a tag share is created, it cannot be edited. The sending nation must stop and re-start the tag share to edit its parameters. This system ensures that both the sending and receiving nations have a chance to approve changes to a tag share.

A receiving nation can stop a tag share, but it cannot edit the parameters or re-start the share. 

To edit a tag in the sending nation:

1. Go to People > Tags > View all.

2. Select the pencilbutton next to the tag you wish to stop sharing.

3. Go to Sharing.

4. Click on the pencil button next to the slug of the nation with whom you wish to stop the tag share.

5. Click Stop sharing .

A confirmation box will pop up asking if you are sure. 

Click OK to confirm that you want to stop the tag share. A tag share must be stopped before it can be edited.

6. From here you may also update the settings of your tag share including whether to sync profile information, which optional fields to include in the syncing process, and whether profiles should be created in the receiving nation if they do not currently exist.

7. Click Update share  to update your settings. 

8. Click Request sharing  to re-request the tag share in the receiving nation. 

 It is important to complete these steps exactly as written - the fields to be shared must be saved by clicking the "Update share" button before clicking the "Request sharing" button. Otherwise, changes made to the tag share will not be saved. 

A receiving nation can only stop the tag share: 

1. Go to People > Tags > View all and click on the pencil  button next to the name of the shared tag you wish to review.

2. Click on Stop sharing  to end the tag share.

The receiving nation cannot edit whether a tag share includes data syncing, the optional fields included, or whether new profiles will be created. Only the sending nation can edit the settings of the tag share. 

What happens when a tag share is stopped

A tag share that is stopped -- either from the sending or from the receiving nation -- will display the "stopped" status in the sending nation. The tag will be removed from the receiving nation. If the sending nation updates the share and starts the process again, the receiving nation will have to accept the share again, thereby confirming the new parameters of the tag share.

Here is how the status will display in the sending nation:

The tag and its stat boxes will no longer display in the receiving nation when a share is stopped.


How to share data with other nations via tags

Accept a shared tag

How to use tags

Creating a tag library

Filters vs. lists vs. tags

Be the first to comment

Wrap code snippets in <code></code> tags.
Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.

If you’re unclear on how this feature works, please ask a question. If you would like to see changes to this feature, please submit a suggestion.