I just went through and manually updated attendees for an expired event who had not previously RSVPd. The way the interface contextual help told me to do this was to manually add them as a new RSVP with the "attended" box checked. Simple enough. But then I noticed that it had sent each of these people RSVP confirmation auto responses for an event that was in the past and that they had already attended - confusing, to say the least.
Events that already happened should default to disable the autoresponse email when new RSVPs are added.
This issue has been resolved. Autoresponses will no longer send if the event is expired.
We have started working on a fix to default the autoresponses to "off" when the event is expired. We will update you when it is completed!
This isn’t something that we have planned at the moment but a great suggestion.